How Do I Delete My Facebook Account?

delete-account

Permanently Delete My Facebook Account

With the issues of privacy on Facebook gaining attention, many people want to know exactly how to delete a Facebook account. Doing that is pretty simple. This article has outlined how to do that along with some smart Facebook safety tips that anyone can use.

Delete Your Profile Facebook

Deleting your Facebook account is pretty simple with these steps:

  1. Go to the top right of the screen and click the down arrow or go into your settings.
  2. Go to “Manage Account” next.
  3. Click on “Deactivate Your Account” and follow the steps there.

Before doing that, you may want to download a copy of your Facebook data – just in case you need it. More about what this data is and how it can be used is below.

How to delete a Facebook account

Note: If you do delete a Facebook account, please note that you may not be able to login to your account for 14 days. Any website that you may have a Facebook connection set up with will need to be changed. Also, Facebook will give you this message:

If you do not think you will use Facebook again and would like your account deleted, we can take care of this for you. Keep in mind that you will not be able to reactivate your account or retrieve any of the content or information you have added. If you would like your account deleted, then click “Submit.”

You will see a screen like this when you click on the link above:

delete-facebook

 


Downloading Your Facebook Data and Viewing It

If you go into Settings > General, you’ll see a link to download a copy of your Facebook data:

Facebook General Settings screen

This data includes:

  • Posts, photos and videos you’ve shared
  • Your messages and chat conversations
  • Info from the About section of your profile

And even more.

I’d suggest everyone do this once just to see how much data Facebook has on you. It can be staggering. Just remember that everything you do online can be tracked and saved – so be careful out there.

You’ll be taken to a screen where it confirms your password and it then starts working on your archive. You’ll be notified via email when it’s complete.

Facebook archive screen

Once the download is ready (it make take an hour or more), you’ll get a link to go and download your archive, which will be a zip file:

Facebook screen to download data archiveThis file may be 300 MB or even larger.

Unzip it and you’ll get an index.htm file, which you can double click on to open in a web browser, and some other folders with your messages, videos, photos and more.

Unzipped Facebook Archive

If you open that index.htm file, you’ll see links on the left side to view everything:

Facebook archive page menu

It’s kind of fun to look at, so again, I suggest everyone tries this. It’s best to do this on a computer (desktop or laptop) versus a smart phone or tablet.

Related Searches:

  • how do i delete my fb acc permanently
Tags: , ,
Previous Post
stalker
Facebook How-To

Safely See If You Have Any Facebook Stalkers

Next Post
Unblock / unlock
Facebook Accounts

How Do You Unblock Yourself From Someone’s Facebook Account if They Blocked You?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.